|Island Charter Tours
(E & S Diving Services )
|. The Knot
(Coffee & Gift Shop)
Speciality Coffees $2.25
Speciality Teas $1.75 - $2.25
House Tea/Coffee $1.25 - $1.75
Bottle Water $1.15
Hot Chocolate $1.25 - $1.75
Bottled Juice $1.50
Beer (Quidi Vidi Brews) $4.50 - $6.50
Wine (per 6oz glass) $5.75
All spirits must be accompanied by a food purchase.
Soup "du jour " $5.95 / $6.95
Daily cooked specials throughout the week....
* Tex-Mex (Mac & Cheese)
* Taco Bake
* Fish'n Brew's / Fish Cakes
* Seafood Chowder
* Bake Beans & Toutons
Smoked Salmon w/crackers $6.95
Bruschetta (6 pce) $5.95
Nacho’s & Dip $5.95
and some other delights...............
Various types depending on the cook.............
Raisen Buns $1.50
Chocolate chip cookie $1.25
Bread (2 slice) $1.95
Assorted pies / slice $3.00
- All prices subject to 13% tax.
Hours of Operation:
- 9 am to 6 pm daily.
- (Lunch specials served between 11am to 3pm).
- Available for private functions.
- Wi-Fi Internet available
The Monkey's Fist Knot...............
is most often used as the weight in a heaving line. Theline would have the monkey's fist on one end,
an eye splice or bowline on the other end, with about 30 feet ( 10meters) of line between. A
lightweight feeder line would be tied to the bowline, then the weighted monkey's fist could be hurled
between ship and dock or vice versa. The other end of the lightweight line would be attached to a
heaver-weight line, allowing it to be drawn to the target easily.
The knot is usually tied around a small weight, such as a stone, marble, tight fold of paper, or a piece
of wood. A thicker line will require a larger object in the center to hold the shape of the knot. Another
variation of the monkeys fist knot omits the use of an external object as a weight and rather uses
the spare end which gets tucked back into the knot. This results in a nicer looking knot of a lesser
wight, minimizing the potential danger of hitting someone with the knot.
Telephone Exchange Building......
The United Towns Electric Building Company had an extensive telephone system with several
exchanges on the Avalon and Burin pennisulas. The United Towns established the First
Telephone Exchange in the Carbonear area in 1902 as a means of providing communications
between their power plants. This was the second telephone operation in Newfoundland. The Anglo
American Company had established a telephone exchange on water street St.John's in 1885.
The first building in Carbonear was a wooden building on the North Side of water street and
attached to it at the rear was the United Towns Electric Company. The controlling shares of this
company was taken over by J. J. Murphy and his son R. J. Murphy at a shareholder meeting in the
Court House at Carbonear on February 23, 1915, thus becoming owner of the Telephone
By 1919, the Hon. John J. Murphy, President of the United Town's purchased the St.John's
telephone exchange and shortly after established the Avalon Telephone Company. Two years after
this (1921) the First Long Distance Line was completed between St.John's and Carbonear and the
First Long Distance Call was made between the two places.
It was during April 24, 1929 at around 5 am that a fire which started in the Telephone building
caused one of Carbonear's biggest fires and hundreds of thousands of dollars in property
damage. The Telephone exchange was totally destroyed. A temporary switchboard was placed in
John Foote's store by the company and had their phones working shortly after. Also, plans were
made to erect a new Concrete building to house the telephone exchange. Land for this new
exchange was purchased, this time on the South side of water street from J & J Maddock and
construction got underway with all the concrete being poured by hand. This building which is
presently standing, operated until January 31, 1961. A new Telephone Exchange was built on
Saddle Hill, which made this building obsolete and shortly after the building was closed for good.
This building was in sue for 32 years using the old switchboard operation and served Carbonear
well. It employed many people from the town and over it's life many a story came out of this little
During July 1973 Geoff Sterling (Apache Communications) purchased the Cameron Building and
the Old Exchange and had in mind to do TV - from this location, however it never did happen. The
building afterwards changed several hands with endeavours ranging form a Take-out, a Craft
Gallery and now a Coffee & Gift shop.